The Sacraments

“Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life (CCC 1210).”

Restored Order of the Sacraments of Initiation

As the Archdiocese of Denver continues the deliberate process of restoring the order of the sacraments of initiation to their proper theological and historical order (Following Baptism, Reconciliation in second grade, Confirmation and Eucharist in third grade), the Office of Evangelization & Family Life Ministries will be your source for information, timetables, resources, and clarity over the next few years.

More Restored Order Information

Saints Among Us

Saints Among Us is a curriculum developed for sacramental preparation for 2nd and 3rd grade with preparation for Reconciliation, Confirmation and Eucharist. These resources are available for use by any diocese or parish. More information and PDF downloads are available at

Religious Education for Students with Developmental Disabilities

The Office of Special Religious Education and Pastoral Care with Persons with Developmental Disabilities provides parish-based religious education programs, tutoring in parishes not hosting specific programs, home visits, and the provision of resources to families, as needed. Liturgy and Sacraments are celebrated in all programs. “Awareness Masses” are also held in some parishes during the regular Sunday liturgy to celebrate and honor the special education families.

Archbishop’s Annual Mass for Students with Special Needs

Parishes that offer Special Religious Education support:

St. Mary, Littleton (Director: Susan Whittaker)
St. Catherine of Siena, Denver (Director: Anita Garcia)
Queen of Peace, Aurora (Director: Peggy Leichty)
All Saints, Denver (Director: Greg Hastings)
St. Thomas More, Englewood (Director: Sheri Funderburk)
St. Jude, Lakewood (Director: Diane Schreiber)
Immaculate Heart of Mary, Northglenn (Director: Larry Lindgren)
St. Frances Cabrini, Littleton (Director: Kristen Conrad)
Light of the World, Littleton (Contact: Barbara Schick)

For more information about Special Religious Education or one of the parish programs listed, contact Sister Mary Catherine Widger, SL at 303-934-1999.

Pastoral Care

The Special Religious Education Office also provides a ministry of religious nurture to the residents of the Wheat Ridge Regional Center. Because these residents have severe/profound disabilities they benefit best from a program of religious nurture and supportive Christian presence. End of life care and funerals are provided along with ongoing support to Ridge staff persons. Time spent with these residents includes prayer, singing and gentle presence.

Thinking of joining the Roman Catholic Church?

So, you’re interested in the Catholic faith. Great! Is it a little overwhelming? Where do you begin? The process of becoming Catholic as an adult is called the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA). People of all faith backgrounds are welcomed to learn more about the faith through this process.

The RCIA process has several stages:

Inquiry: the initial period before you decide to enter the Catholic Church. You’re asking questions and checking it out, but aren’t yet ready to commit.

Catechumenate: those who decide to enter the Church and are being trained for a life in Christ are called catechumens, an ancient name from the early Church. In this stage, you’re developing your faith and are being “catechized” – learning catechism, or the basic points about Catholic faith and life.

Purification and preparation: The Church will help you focus and intensify your faith as you prepare to commit your life to Christ and be received into the Church at Easter. This period typically occurs during Lent.

Initiation itself, the culmination of the whole process! You’re received into the Church during the Easter Vigil Mass, where you’ll receive the sacraments of initiation: baptism, confirmation, and Eucharist. (If you’ve already been baptized, you won’t be baptized again.)

Mystagogy: after reception into the Church at Easter, this period lets you reflect and learn more about the mysteries of the Mass and the Sacraments. You become a disciple of Christ!

More information about becoming Catholic can be found at:

Contact your local Catholic church for more information on how to get started with the RCIA process.

More information about Catholicism

Training for Catechists

The Art Of Catechesis is an 8-part series of classes is available for parish leaders (directors of faith formation, youth ministers, marriage preparation, RCIA leaders, volunteer teachers) to deepen the understanding and practice of how to teach the faith.

More information and registration


Have a question?

Oops! We could not locate your form.