Skip to main content

The Sacraments

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

– CCC 1210

The Restored Order

In the Spring of 2015 Archbishop Samuel J. Aquila announced that the Archdiocese of Denver would be moving confirmation before first communion, thus restoring the original order of Baptism, Confirmation and First Eucharist as it was in the early church up until 1910.

Learn More